The six-team Arizona Fall League kicks off its 20th anniversary season on October 9th with it’s customary load of top prospects spread throughout the rosters. Each team has players from five different major league clubs and this year’s crop includes Reds farmhand Billy Hamilton, Mariners C and #3 overall pick Mike Zunino and Padres P Casey Kelly.

Who’s eligible for the AFL is as follows:

The roster size is 30 players per team.

Each Major League organization is required to provide six players subject to the following requirements:

  • All Triple-A and Double-A players are eligible, provided the players are on at least a Double-A level roster no later than Aug. 1.
  • One player below the Double-A level is allowed per Major League team.
  • One foreign player is allowed, as long as the player does not reside in a country that participates in winter ball, as part of the Caribbean Confederation or the Australian winter league.
  • No players with more than one year of credited Major League service as of August 31 are eligible, except a team may select one player picked in the most recently concluded Major League Rule 5 Draft.
  • To be eligible, players on Minor League disabled lists must be activated at least 45 days before the conclusion of their respective seasons.

The league plays out its season at the Spring Training complexes in Arizona and concludes with a championship game on November 17. For more commentary on the AFL, see Jonathan Mayo’s article here. And to check the rosters, click on the TEAMS tab from the AFL homepage, and select from the clubs listed.